Jeff Booker

Senior Systems Engineer

Relevant Experience:17 years

Education:B.S. Mechanical Engineering - Northeastern University, Boston, MA

Experience in the field

I have worked on over 25 medical products including: endotracheal tubes, blood processing equipment, patient monitoring equipment, ventilators, imaging catheters, and networked central monitoring systems. Positions including: manufacturing engineer, technical lead, systems program lead and more!

What do you like about working at a company that designs medical products?

Working on products that can directly improve people’s lives is extremely rewarding. Medical products also pose additional challenges such as understanding all the users: clinicians, nurses, patients, and even other family members. Knowledge of all of the environments and infrastructure available in healthcare and research. Additionally, it is essential to understand other sciences such as chemistry, physiology and biology. This has made me extremely well rounded and ensures continuous learning of all of these facets of medical products.

What do you like about working at Tensentric?

I enjoy the fast paced product development process that ensures only value added work is performed. This means that I get to be on many different projects in a short time frame. Additionally, the broad spectrum of products ensure constant new learning vs working on the same core technology for years at a time. Not to mention, being surrounded by many high performance engineers with can do attitudes.

What unique set of skills do you bring to Tensentric?

I bring practical technical knowledge that has been obtained my entire life through education, experience, hobbies, and past work experience. I have a high level proficiency in three of the major engineering disciplines: mechanical, electrical, and software. My product development knowledge breadth includes understanding the high level business models all the way to the details of manufacturing floor workflow optimization to reduce the cost of a component.

What hobbies or non-work activities are you most passionate about?

Outside of work I stay busy riding and racing my off-road motorcycle all over the county. If I am not on my dirtbike, then I can be found tinkering on something with a motor or performing a “not recommended for DIY” household project.

Where were you born/where did you grow up?

I was born in New Hampshire, briefly lived in Iowa, and finished growing up in Massachusetts.

When you were in elementary school, what did you want to be when you grew up?

In the pre-school days I wanted to be a “telephone repair person”. I was obsessed with wires and trucks, so what better profession could exist!