Katie (Paswaters) Hungerford

Mechanical Engineer

Relevant Experience:5 years

Education:B.S. Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical Design Concentration - California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Experience in the field


  • Surgical Robotic Instruments
  • Peripheral Nerve Stimulation Implants
  • Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator (ICD)
  • Pacemakers
  • Spinal Cord Stimulation Device
  • Transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR)
  • Gastrointestinal Implantable
  • Laparoscopic Delivery System


  • SolidWorks
  • Injection Molded Part Design
  • Overseas Manufacturing Line Bring-Up
  • Manifold Design

What do you like about working at Tensentric?

I love the friendly and collaborative atmosphere, the diversity of project work, and that I can see the mountains from my desk!

If you couldn’t be an engineer, what would you be? Why?

If I wasn’t an engineer, I would be a dog walker so I could spend all day outside enjoying the trails with the pups!

What’s the most interesting medical device project you’ve worked on and why?

I’ve been fortunate enough to work on lots of cool projects – it’s hard to pick just one! For the last 2.5 years, I worked on instruments for the Monarch surgical robotics platform. It was a complex system where I was able to interface with many cross-functional groups. I loved the mechanical design collaboration and getting to see a product from design through 510k submission. Before that, I spent a year working on a peripheral nerve stimulation device in collaboration with a startup. It was fun to see how much the product improved over lots of prototyping rounds, and I loved getting to work with a small but mighty team.

What do you like about working at a company that designs medical products?

I love seeing the impact of my designs on people’s everyday lives and generally working with people who want to help others! I’ve found the medical device industry draws in a unique group of people who are passionate about making a difference, and they make excellent co-workers. 🙂

What hobbies or non-work activities are you most passionate about?

Anything that involves being outside with my dog; hiking, running, mountain biking, backpacking, skiing.

Where are you from and how did you end up in Colorado?

I grew up in Louisville, Colorado. I spent the last 8 years in California; 4 years at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo for school, and 4 years working in the Medical Device Industry in the Bay Area. I am a Colorado girl at heart and am thrilled to be closer to family, friends, and the mountains.

If you could work on any type of medical device project, what would it be and why?

Surgical robotics is a rapidly growing and fascinating field – countless procedures could benefit from the accuracy provided by robotic solutions. I would also love to work on nerve stimulation devices – I think there could be enormous benefits to the more targeted solutions provided by this technology. I can’t wait to dive into the world of in-vitro diagnostics here at Tensentric, a field I don’t have a lot of experience in. Apparently, there is still a lot I want to work on!

When you were in elementary school, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a doctor!

If you could go back in time, where and what time would you travel to and why?

I would go back to Glenwood Hot Springs, Summer 2012, where I attempted a backflip off the diving board in front of a line of 20 children, and face planted on the water. I would go for a more achievable feat, such as a cannonball or maybe a “pencil”.