Riley Gervais

User Experience and Human Factors Engineer

Relevant Experience:3 years

Education:B.S. Chemical and Biological Engineering - University of Colorado, Boulder Minor in Biomedical Engineering - University of Colorado, Boulder

Experience in the field

I began working in the medical device industry as a Biomedical Engineering Intern for Medtronic in 2018 where I did V&V work for insulin infusion pumps. Starting in 2019, I began working with Tensentric as a Systems Engineering Intern and transitioned into a full-time position as a User Experience and Human Factors Engineer in 2020.

What do you like about working at a company that designs medical products?

I love being able to come to work everyday knowing that my efforts, skills, and hard-work are being put towards the betterment of society. Sometimes as a single human being it can feel impossible to make any impact on the world, but at Tensentric, we actually have the ability to make a positive impact on the world and change people’s lives for the better!

What do you like about working at Tensentric?

Tensentric is all about work hard, play hard. Every employee here works hard day in and day out, doing outstanding and cutting edge work. However, Tensentric also values a work-life balance and makes sure the employees are taken care of (can’t complain about a fully stocked kitchen with food and drinks!). This, along with the fast-paced cycle of new projects to work on, keeps me motivated and excited to get up each day and get to work!

What unique set of skills do you bring to Tensentric?

Being a competitive figure skater & training for 16 years, has instilled in me strict determination, attention to detail and perseverence. These skills are no longer at use at the rink, but I have been able to apply them to my engineering and design work, which has been especially useful for Systems and UX/HF work. (I also love baking pastries, cakes and cookies, so I try to bless our office with some sweet treats every now and then.)

What hobbies or non-work activities are you most passionate about?

One of the main reasons I moved to CO was to take advantage of all the wonderful outside activities this state has to offer like hiking, trail running, skiing, climbing and camping. Other than that, I love to cook/bake, rock climb, play cards/board games, garden, and enjoy the backyard with my adorable chickens.

Where were you born/where did you grow up?

I was born and raised just north of Minneapolis, MN, but I spent a lot of my childhood in Breckenridge learning to ski with my family, which made me fall in love with the state. So now, here I am!

When you were in elementary school, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I didn’t like working with people when I was young (thanks to being in an individual sport for so long), so I dreamed of working alone in a chemistry lab or being a coroner. I’m glad my attitude towards teamwork has changed since then, because I think I would have died from boredom at those jobs.