Nate Elsen

Senior Manufacturing Engineer

  • Relevant Experience: 31 years

  • Education:
    B.S. Electronics Engineering - ITT Technical Institute, Aurora, CO

Experience in the field

  • Over 31 years of experience in the medical device field with an electrical engineering background
  • Fully implantable middle ear transducer ossicular stimulator - Process Engineer, Project Management & MFG MGR
  • Design of high power ultrasonic control circuitry for phacoemulsification instruments - Electrical Engineer
  • Designed sensors and circuitry for blood separation devices - Electrical Engineer
  • Designed control systems for blood coagulation devices - Project Management & Electrical Engineer

What do you like about working at Tensentric?

Great people, flexible work schedule, and many interesting projects.

If you couldn’t be an engineer, what would you be? Why?

Real estate investor. I love fixing old houses.

What’s the most interesting medical device project you’ve worked on and why?

A fully implantable hearing aid device. I enjoyed the challenges of designing & manufacturing a product with so many complex issues. I also loved the fact that it was helping so many people in their daily lives.

What unique set of skills do you bring to Tensentric?

I love to solve problems, and I excel in stressful situations. I have also worn many hats over my career, which gives me a perspective from many different views.

When you were in elementary school, what did you want to be when you grew up?

My true passion at that age was to be an Olympic diver. I would record every dive on VHS and watch it over and over until I wore out the tape. I knew that if I could invision it, and dream it enough, I could make it happen. After high school, I had scholarships for diving or for engineering. I decided that engineering was probably a better career path.

What hobbies or non-work activities are you most passionate about?

Triathlons, mountain biking, snowboarding, motocross, and camping with my family.

Where were you from and how did you end up in Colorado?

I grew up in North Platte, NE. I won National Championship with a full scholarship to go to college in Denver.

If you could work on any type of medical device project, what would it be and why?

Anything to do with curing cancer. I’ve lost many close family members and friends to that disease.

If you could go back in time, where and what time would you travel to and why?

1991 to see my mother one last time.

If you had a billion dollars what would you do with it?

10% goes to charity and helping as many people as I can, 50% real estate investments, 40% start a motocross/mountain bike vacation destination resort.