Melody Pierro

Mechanical Engineer

  • Relevant Experience: 2 years

  • Education:
    B.S. Biomedical Engineering - Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO
    B.S. Mechanical Engineering - Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO
    Minor in Mathematics - Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO

Experience in the field

Throughout my undergrad years I gathered experience working various roles in the Mechanical Engineering field such as engineering intern and lab technician positions. After graduating, I became a Mechanical Engineering Associate at Tensentric which is my first full time role.

What’s the most interesting medical device project you’ve worked on and why?

Through CSU I have been able to contribute to several projects, though the most interesting has been a medical screening device that would analyze users breathe and attempt to identify markers for various diseases.

What do you like about working at Tensentric?

The best parts about working at Tensentric are both the friendly work environment as well as designing a diverse range of products that will go on to help people in a meaningful way.

What unique set of skills do you bring to Tensentric?

I bring a curious and ready-to-learn mindset wherever I go, and I am always excited to learn from others. Since this is my first out of college job, I am ready and willing to adapt to constructive criticism and I try to better myself as an employee and engineer.

What hobbies of non-work activities are you most passionate about?

Outside of work I enjoy exploring National Parks and some indoor activities like crocheting, baking, and working on home improvements.

If you couldn’t be an engineer, what would you be? Why?

I would likely be a carpenter or blacksmith. Designing swords or outdoor structures sounds exciting and I would love to learn these skills later in life.

If you could work on any type of medical device project, what would it be and why?

I would like to work on diagnostic medical devices, or assistive technology for those with Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases. Diagnostics can help treatments start earlier and making low-cost assistive devices will make living easier for all involved. In general, I am happy designing to directly improve the lives of others around me.

Where are you from and how did you end up in Colorado?

Originally, I am from California, but I have lived in Colorado the past 5 years after moving here to go to College at CSU. I decided to stay in Colorado in order to explore the outdoors on an adult budget!

If you could travel back in time, where and what time would you travel to and why?

I would have to go back to the renaissance era! If it was anything like the renaissance fairs I used to go to with my family it would be a dream, ideally I would have a turkey leg in one hand and a sword in the other.

If you had a billion dollars what would you do with it?

If I had a billion dollars I would build a fully automated house, I would love to have a workshop and homemade projects that help me do simple tasks. For now, I design small, automated parts for my one-bedroom apartment.